When you trade in your device, your personal data and info are completely safe and secure. Here are some common questions and answers about the safety of your data.
What happens to the data on my device after I trade it in?
Data is automatically deleted from devices traded in once they’ve been received by the refurbisher. You don’t have to worry about your information ending up in the wrong hands.
Before sending your device, you can also delete the data yourself:
- On iPhone: Go to "Settings" > "General" > "Reset" > "Erase Content and Settings".
- On Android: Go to "Settings" > "Backup & Reset" > "Reset all data".
Your phone will then be refurbished and prepared to start a whole new life with someone else. If it’s in poor condition, it will be stripped for parts and then properly recycled.
Why do I need to share my Social Security number (SSN) and other personal information when I trade in my device?
Short answer — to pay you for the device you traded in with Back Market.
Long answer — our payment provider Adyen requires the last 4 digits of your SSN to confirm your identity and transfer money into your bank account. Your personal information is completely secure and is only used to verify your identity and prevent fraud.
Your SSN and other personal info will be erased once your identity is verified and you’ve received payment.